Comments: Expert Picks for the Honda Classic 2017 TOP 200 Fantasy Football Rankings, TOP 200 PPR Cheatsheets TOP 200 PPR Draft / Draft Rankings

Golf > 2011 > Tournament Rankings > Comments

Comments: Expert Picks for the Honda Classic

The Tour returns from the madness of split personalities, throwing the game's elite into the challenges of match play for the World Golf Championships while the rest of the golf-playing professionals were offered a tourney in Mexico to pursue their needs. This week they can all be joined as one at the confines of the PGA National Championship Course, the Tour's first launch east to play in Florida where another chapter for the history of the Honda Classic will unfold. The folks in Palm Beach have been hosting this event since the early 1970s (originally known as the Jackie Gleason Classic, named after the iconic actor), serving as one of the Tour's traditional homes for nearly four decades, and many of the game's formative figures have tabbed it as an event of choice during that time. Former champions include Jack Nicklaus, Lee Trevino, Johnny Miller, Tom Kite, Hale Irwin, Curtis Strange, Nick Price and Fred Couples. More recent seasons have welcomed Vijay Singh, Justin Leonard, Padraig Harrington, Luke Donald, Ernie Els and Camilo Villegas (this year's defending champ) to the winner's circle. Originally designed by Tom and George Fazio (two of the best), the Champion Course at the PGA National Resort & Spa was redesigned by Nicklaus in 1990 and earned rights to host the Honda Classic shortly after. Like most Nicklaus tracks, the course is known for offering unique advantage for those who brave and survive manageable risks, but a conservative approach can also lead to low scores. However, the "Bear Trap" – a three-hole stretch from the 15th through the 17th holes – were labeled as "one of the toughest stretches in golf" by USA Today.

Golfers listed in this article:
  1. Lee Westwood
  2. Camilo Villegas
  3. Luke Donald
  4. Ernie Els
  5. Matt Kuchar
  6. Robert Allenby
  7. Graeme McDowell
  8. Rory McIlroy
  9. Rickie Fowler
  10. Vijay Singh
  11. Edoardo Molinari
  12. Justin Leonard
  13. Justin Rose
  14. Ian Poulter
  15. Anthony Kim
  16. Ben Crane
  17. Jhonattan Vegas
  18. Will MacKenzie
  19. Davis Love III
  20. Charlie Wi
  21. Charl Schwartzel
  22. Alex Cejka
  23. Ross Fisher
  24. Jason Dufner
  25. Jimmy Walker
  26. Angel Cabrera
  27. Fredrik Jacobson
  28. Yuta Ikeda
  29. Scott Verplank
  30. Stewart Cink
< Back to Article

There are no comments on this article yet.
Comments are closed for this article.