Comments: Expert Picks for HP Byron Nelson Championship 2017 TOP 200 Fantasy Football Rankings, TOP 200 PPR Cheatsheets TOP 200 PPR Draft / Draft Rankings

Golf > 2011 > Tournament Rankings > Comments

Comments: Expert Picks for HP Byron Nelson Championship

This event made its debut on the PGA Tour in 1926, becoming a staple in the Tour schedule in the 1940's. Since that time it has enjoyed status as one of the more illustrious non-major events of the season, and while the elite golfers continue to shorten their schedules (making this week's field one of the more vulnerable this event has ever known), the history associated with the Byron Nelson is long and storied with the list of former champions revealing some of the game's greats. Sam Snead, Jack Nicholas, and Tom Watson have all ruled this track for extended periods of time, though recent seasons and a diminishing list of elite competitors taking part has allowed this event to become a bit of a stomping ground for young, talented golfers on the rise (see Jason Day last season). While the Byron Nelson is steeped in tradition, the host venue -- the TPC Four Seasons in Irving, Texas -- may be one of the more recently-constructed tracks we will see on Tour this season. The Four Seasons Resort underwent massive and comprehensive redesign just a few short years ago, formed by the hands of former PGA Tour champion D.A. Weibring along with architect Steve Wolfard of Golf Resources Group. The desire was simple: Bring the PGA Tour to the greater Dallas area, and this course has done just that, maintaining its connections to history while strengthening the challenge for the golfers of today. The original design was constructed in 1983 under the watchful guidance of both Byron Nelson and Ben Crenshaw, using indigenous oak and mesquite trees as the setting for one of the more colorful TPC designs. However, the Weibring and Wolfard vision was just built in May of 2007, adding length and additional risk/reward contemplation via strategic hole construction and obstructions. Thus the course is quite a bit different from the track producing leaderboards you might review prior to '07. Recent trends suggest there is benefit to prodigious length, and you'll note some of the names found in (and out) this season's field suggest power could be of benefit once again.

Golfers listed in this article:
  1. Dustin Johnson
  2. Ben Crane
  3. Matt Kuchar
  4. Jason Day
  5. Nick Watney
  6. Sergio Garcia
  7. Scott Verplank
  8. Carl Pettersson
  9. Sean O'Hair
  10. Charley Hoffman
  11. K.J. Choi
  12. Robert Allenby
  13. Marc Leishman
  14. Briny Baird
  15. Rory Sabbatini
  16. Jeff Overton
  17. D.A. Points
  18. Ryan Palmer
  19. Jason Dufner
  20. Brian Davis
  21. Charlie Wi
  22. D.J. Trahan
  23. Brandt Snedeker
  24. J.J. Henry
  25. Anthony Kim
  26. Arjun Atwal
  27. Scott McCarron
  28. Shaun Micheel
  29. Rod Pampling
  30. Brett Wetterich
< Back to Article

There are no comments on this article yet.
Comments are closed for this article.